Dungeons and Dragons 4th Edition


I have read the first 2 chapters of the players handbook of the Fourth Edition of the popular role playing game Dungeons and Dragons which was released 8 years after the third edition. And honestly I’m a bit disappointed. I am not against any changes in the rulings or how it is being played but removing the alignment chart which featured 9 possible alignments and replacing it with just good, lawful good, evil, chaotic evil, and unaligned seems kind of lame. The exclusion of a few races such as gnomes, which almost no one plays anyway, and half-orc, which a lot of STR hungry players like was kind of sad but is okay. They were replaced by Dragonborns and Tiefling which was a surprise to me as I consider them harder to roleplay properly compared to the old basic races. Sorcerer and Barbarians are no more, replaced by Warlord and Warlock, which in my opinion, a change for the sake of change. I like how they now compute ability scores and other stuffs like attack rolls and initiative which make it easier now to compute without memorizing charts but I am not yet sure as to how this will impact combats. There are a lot of new terms such as health surge but I don’t have the desire yet to finish reading as I am lamenting the lost of the old 9 alignment system.
I will be posting more about the 4th Edition if I have more time

About Squared
House of Squared is written by that guy who knows more than the average Duterte supporter, which isn't saying much given that most of them are morons.

Leave a Reply

