Google and Firefox


everythingscandalous.blogspot.com is one of the sites that I visit everyday to check for updated uploads of videos. They host this videos on Rapidshare and Ziddu usually. I most of the time use Ziddu as you can download several files at a time. 2 days ago, I tried to download a file hosted by Ziddu and I was surprised by the page that was loaded. FireFox has blocked the site as it was on the list of attack site of Google. I know that Ziddu has a lot of ads that were most probably scams and I never bothered to click any of them. So I thought, hey, nice, this would lessen the Americans calling us because they again clicked another ad. Confident that I am knowledgeable enough to know the difference between a scam and what’s not, I disabled this feature of FireFox so that I can continue downloading the videos.
A few days later, a post was made on that blog saying that there was nothing wrong with Ziddu and that Google has added a lot of sites to its banned list which FireFox uses. I then went to the Google website where there is a thread of people complaining about this issue. A lot of posters said that their own personal sites were blacklisted. Some who runs business through their website were furious as the blacklisting would cause people to think they are untrustworthy and would never visit their site again. One site that strikes me as odd of being included in the list is the hallmark channel although I think the ban has been lifted.
Google keeps saying in the forum that all the web owner has to do is to ask for a review. I was like, are you kidding me? Why do web owners have to do all those things? I’m all for making the Internet a safer place but this is ridiculous.
Google also said that you can disable this feature and they even gave a step by step instruction on how to which is good unfortunately, as witnessed by me daily taking calls from computer illiterate users, step by step instructions is too much for them. They’re too lazy to do listed instructions that has more than 2 clicks. I fear that this people might use IE again and all my work at recommending FireFox to every customer would go to waste
On a hunch, I tried using Google Chrome to visit this sites listed as attack site. And it was also blocked but there is an option where you can click a button to proceed anyway. Now you can just click on 1 button to access the attack site. The FireFox block page does not have this option. Coincidence or not, it does leave me suspicious.
Google had this unofficial company motto which goes something like “Don’t be evil”. I think they’re getting nearer in removing the ‘n’ and the ‘t’.
I love Google and their advocacy of open source software and besides this issue, I have no other issue against them but this just sucks. Ironically though, this blog is hosted by blogger which is owned by Google. Hope I don’t get blacklisted.

About Squared
House of Squared is written by that guy who knows more than the average Duterte supporter, which isn't saying much given that most of them are morons.

3 Responses to Google and Firefox

  1. mimicoctopus says:

    If you loved everything scandalous, then you will also like pinaysexvideos.thumblogger.com!

  2. Andres says:

    Have you click “ignore this warning”?

    it located as small text bottom left portion on warning box.

    • rayanami says:

      Last September 2008, that feature was non-existent. I specifically looked for any option to ignore the warning but there was none. If you read the entire post, you can see that I did try it with Chrome and the option was available but not in FireFox. That only shows that I am familiar with what you call an “ignore this warning” option.
      I did also mention that I was able to disable it only after went to preferences.

Leave a Reply

