Review: Norton Internet Security Suite 2009


Intrigued by reviews that Symantec has finally made an Internet Security Suite that is non-system memory hog and non-obtrusive to your daily computer process, I installed the 15-day trial version.
I was amazed at the installation time, 2 minutes! On an Athlon XP 2500+ with 1GB of RAM and running Windows XP. No restart was required. When I visited the task manager though, there are a lot of processes running that I could not identify. I presume they’re with Norton as I’ve got this process after installing it and I was not yet connected to the internet. So I don’t know how much memory it takes to run. But I’ve been playing Defender of the Ancients for 4 hours straight and I didn’t notice any slowing down. As of the moment, the only thing I didn’t like is I could not connect to Yahoo Messenger for some reason. I checked the Instant Messenger Protection setting of Norton and it’s only compatible with Yahoo Messenger 5.0 to 6.1 and the 9.0 Beta Version. I turned off the Instant Messenger Protection and tried connecting again but my YM still cant connect. It might not be because of Norton in any case. I just need a little more time to test Norton. My parents uses my computer and part of the reason why I used the very obtrusive Zonealarm is because I am afraid that they might click some ads while browsing. A 15 day test should be enough for me to see whether it has protected the computer from mistakes my mom and dad might make.

Update:
Hva been using Norton 2009 for 5 days now. So far no virus or spyware yet as far as I know has infected my computer. It’s pretty lightweight and barely noticeable. I’m impressed so far

About Squared
House of Squared is written by that guy who knows more than the average Duterte supporter, which isn't saying much given that most of them are morons.

Leave a Reply

