Sponge Cola


I first heard of Sponge Cola when their cover of Crazy for you was played in radio stations everywhere. The song was then revived by many other bands and singers like MYMP. I didn’t give much attention to it as a lot of different bands were heard during those years such as Hale, Sugarfree, and Cueshe.

Then, their first original song came up, KLSP (short for Kulang Lang Sa Pansin, translate to “Attention-Whore”). The first line really got me listening. And then Jeepney came out, with the music video of the very cute fan girl, and I was impressed as they seldom use slang in most, if not all, of their song. Yes, a lot of other OPM band also doesn’t use slang on their song but only on their English songs, when it comes to their Filipino songs, they will resort to what my Highschool Senior Filipino Teacher refers to as “Salitang Balbal”.

But the album that really converted me into a fan is Transit, their 2nd album. It was a time when I was having some, well, love/(best)friend related problems and the songs included in Transit has made me smile in a time when such is a rarity.

The other thing that I liked about Sponge Cola’s songs is how I often can relate to it. This is also one of the reason why I liked Eraserheads. Their song “Pare Ko” is a song I think a lot of High School and College student has experienced. Same with Jeepney. How many of you had experienced going home riding a jeepney, loved ones sleeping on your lap, your arms on her shoulder. And then after a few months it was over and now you feel nostalgic whenever you ride a jeepney(of course, it’s a different thing when you own a car).

A message to those who says that Sponge Cola is an Emo band, please, emo-ism is, IMO, an anti-social behaviour, depression, social withdrawal and even suicidal tendency which is never a part of any Sponge Cola song.

About Squared
House of Squared is written by that guy who knows more than the average Duterte supporter, which isn't saying much given that most of them are morons.

3 Responses to Sponge Cola

  1. Suaveh says:

    Sponge Cola? Emo?

    Saan nangaling yun? O_o

  2. mikepopo says:

    I have to admit. I still listen to them up until now

  3. The Answer says:

    I wonder kung sino yung nasa jeep na yan at yung love/(best)friend interest. You could blog more about her.

Leave a Reply

