House of Squared Awards 2009


Well last December 28, 2008, I started my own awards for things that I deemed worthy of recognition. So to make it a yearly event, here are the awards and their winners.

Movie Awards

Epic Movie of the Year: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – Though there were important scenes from the book that were excluded from the film, the movie was still the best one this year. It is also the highest grossing movie this year as per wikipedia. By the way, that movie with sparkling vampires is at sixth place.

Movie-that-I-will-not-watch of the Year: That movie with sparkling vampires – Last year we had sparkly vegan vampires. This year, they added hairy half naked guys who comes out of the forest with other hairy half naked guys. No thanks. Runner-up: Dragonball Evolution

Disappointing Movie of the Year: G.I. Joe: Rise of Cobra – My favorite character, Flint, was not there. Snake Eyes wasn’t cool enough. Stormshadow was actually the cooler ninja. Runner-ups: Street Fighter: Legend of Chun-li, X-men Origins: Wolverine

Adrenaline Movie of the Year: Taken – 80% of the time, Liam Neeson was being a kick-ass super-agent. It’s like watching James Bond, only without gadgets and more bad-ass moves. Runner-ups: 2012, Fast and Furious

Funniest Movie of the Year: Fanboys – I am not a fanboy of the Star Wars series but I do love its tribute to all its fanatics. A lot of cameo appearances from key people of the Star Wars industry too. And yes it was funny even though a lot of jokes are Star Wars related. Runner-ups: Fired-up!, Bride Wars

WTF Movie of the Year: Inglorious Basterds – I like the movie, I just don’t know what genre it should be categorized.

I-should-have-watched-but-didn’t Movie of the Year: Terminator Salvation – I know I should have watched this but I was busy during that time. Runner-ups: Avatar, Up

Have finally watched Avatar. Review of the Movie and the IMAX experience to follow

American Pie Clone Movie of the Year: Fired-Up! – Two guys on a cheerleading camp. Need I say more? Runner-ups: I love you Beth Cooper, American Pie: The Book of Love

Megan Fox Movie of the Year: Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen – I know Jennifer’s Body is a movie with Megan Fox as the only selling point, but you can’t beat the motorcycle scene with Megan doing the ‘correct’ posture for drawing on the bike scene. And the hundreds of slow motion bouncing boobs.

Music Awards

Artist of the Year: So Nyuh Shi Dae – Right now it’s So Nyuh Shi Dae! From now on it’s So Nyuh Shi Dae! Forever it’s So Nyuh Shi Dae!

Most Played Song of the Year: So Nyuh Shi Dae’s Genie – I think I have at least a dozen live performances of this song.

Album of the Year: So Nyuh Shi Dae’s Genie – The reason here is simple. Genie is the first album that I have purchased since Parokya ni Edgar’s Bigotilyo which was about five years ago.

LSS of the Year: Kara’s Mister – I give the award to Mister as it has infected the most people with the least amount of play count.

House of Squared Related Awards

Article of the Year: Katrina Halili Scandal: For Real – The article that got me 5,000 hits in the span of 3 days.

Most Viewed Article: Everything Scandalous: Returns – Apparently, even after half a year of dormancy, a lot of people are still hoping for cult_master’s blog to return. As of this writing, this article has been viewed 15,035 times.

Month with Most Visitors: May – Thanks mostly to the Katrina Halili-Hayden Kho scandal, I got 21,110 visitors that month.

Asshole of the Year: To whoever sent that legal threat to a certain co-worker – We know who this is.

Miscellaneous Awards

Babe of the Year: Cristine Reyes – the things she did this year and being at the wrong place at the right time sure did wonders for her. Runner-up: Krista Ranillo

Game of the Year: Dragon Age: Origins – Finally, a game that I can call a complete product. Unlike some games that withheld features like bonus stage, developer consoles, and the likes.

Software of the Year: Windows 7 – Finally, we can forget of the failure that was Vista.

Hardware of the Year: iPod Touch – Yes it’s an Apple product but for a quarter of the price, you get all what the iPhone can give except for the phone and camera functionality. For the amount that you’ve “saved”, you can buy a better camera phone and a netbook.

Well that’s it for the 2009 House of Squared awards. 2009 has been a boring year compared to the year that was 2008. 2010 will be a year of changes for my blog. I know I have not been updating my site often this past couple of weeks but do come visit from time to time and see what changes are in store for 2010.

About Squared
House of Squared is written by that guy who knows more than the average Duterte supporter, which isn't saying much given that most of them are morons.

Leave a Reply

