Hacienda Luisita: A Change of Stance


Several months ago, before the 2010 Presidential Election, I started the Noynoy for President series of posts. On the first part, I posted videos defending the Hacienda Luisita management.

I pointed out how three referendums conducted with the workers of HLI were made and how the stock distribution option won. I also pointed out how HLI workers were not tenants. The difference between a plain employee and a tenant is their knowledge of all the tasks. A normal employee has a specific function for the hacienda, while a tenant performs all the task from planting to harvesting. So if the land is given to a tenant, he still performs the same amount of work but this time gets all the earnings. HLI workers on the other hand will need to learn a lot of the process first as they may have been assigned to perform only a specific task on the previous setup.

Giving the lands to the HLI employees who only knows a specific task could pose some problems especially when we are talking about the major producer of sugar in our country. The government would need to lend a hand to the beneficiaries of these lands.

About the HLI Massacre that has occurred, I pointed out that one of the casualties died because he was hit by an improvised shotgun, something the military won’t be using. Of the 116 arrested protester, only 6 were confirmed farmers.

Now, the Hacienda Luisita issue is once again the talk of the country. And with all the points given above, a lot of people that I know still believes that the lands should be distributed.

So I am changing my stand. Before, I didn’t want the lands to be distributed to the farmers. What I wanted was for them to be given a higher percentage of the Hacienda’s earnings.

But now, I think, that even if that were to happen, I believe that the leftist will not be satisfied until these lands are distributed. I think this is so because I believe that the leftists aim is not to make the poor richer. I think what they really want is for the rich to get poorer. And while the people around me do not think this way, I believe that they too will not be satisfied with any solution besides actual land distribution.

So I say give the land to the farmers. It’s a win-win situation for me anyway. If the lands were given to them and they prosper then the sugar supply in our country will maintain the status quo. Should it fail and we’d have a national crisis on sugar supply, then it’s still a win for me as I will be forced to cut down on my sugar intake which should enable me to lose some weight.

About Squared
House of Squared is written by that guy who knows more than the average Duterte supporter, which isn't saying much given that most of them are morons.

Leave a Reply

