House of Squared: Advertisers, Pagerank, and Loading Time


I intended to be able to post a minimum of one article a week. I usually post it every Monday.

I missed a post yesterday.

The reason? An ad group wanted to place ads on my site but backed out when they found out that I do not have a Pagerank. Apparently, Pagerank is something of importance to their clients.

So what is Pagerank? As far as I can tell, based on all the posts that I read about it is that you get some points of getting your site linked by another website. The higher the Pagerank of the site that linked to you, the higher the points you get for it.

I remembered that one of my friend’s blog has a Pagerank of 2 which has placed a link on his blog directing to my site. This should give me a few points for my Pagerank. Unfortunately, when I check his site, the link was still pointing to my WordPress.com page. Even though the WordPress.com page will redirect to my site, that doesn’t count.

So right now, my site’s source of revenue revolves around the dimes I get from Google Ads and the even lesser dimes from Linkbucks. If I’m lucky, I’ll be able to cover the domain cost through them.

On another note, I may have to change my WordPress theme. The Graphene theme is cool and all but my blog takes 2 minute to load on 56k connections and about 20 seconds from a 384kbps connection (which is the basic connection in my country).

I found a theme which is very flexible. Almost all part of the page is customizable. It also has flexible width which will adjust the page width depending on the resolution of the user. I hated that feature before as it messed up the formatting of my posts but I guess I can just be more careful and use preview post a lot. I’ll work on the change of theme this coming weekend.

For those who wants to read more about Pagerank and how it works, I found a good tutorial/explanation of it here.

About Squared
House of Squared is written by that guy who knows more than the average Duterte supporter, which isn't saying much given that most of them are morons.

2 Responses to House of Squared: Advertisers, Pagerank, and Loading Time

  1. em says:

    mali yung link ng website ni popo 😀

  2. em says:

    or it’s down? both http://pointsofinterest.com/ and http://pointofinterest.com/ not working

Leave a Reply

