AKB48: Matsui Jurina the Villain


If you have read my AKB48 related posts, you might see a few snide remarks when I talk about the pachinko empress, Matsui Jurina. For non-AKB48 fans, you might wonder why all the hate. I assure you that I am not alone in hating on Jurina. Some even say that you can divide the fans of AKB48 to two parts, Jurina Haters and Jurina non-Haters. So what brought upon this hatred towards the 14 year old center of SKE48? Well, that’s what I intend to talk about in this article.

A lot of fans hates Jurina because she was packaged to be hated. The powers that be (Aki-P) really did a number of play that would result to hatred towards Jurina. And here are my arguments:

Before I start I think I would need to discuss a few things about AKB48. AKB48 is a 40+ member girl group. The first question that is often asked to me about the group is that with that amount of members, how can they show every girl with each song. And my short answer is they don’t. AKB48 has a form of Hierarchy when it comes to the amount of screentime each member gets. For example, the center gets the lion share of the screentime. Also, each single they do not feature all 48 members. They choose a small amount of members called the senbatsu to include in a single. The usual count is 16 and the 16th ranked member usually means you will have the least amount of screentime. So prior to Jurina’s arrival, the center was Maeda Atsuko. Of course because of always being seen with all her screentime, Acchan (Maeda Atsuko) has gained a lot of fans.  Not only her though, the #2 to #16th ranked girl also gained fans. Obviously the fans of the #2 girl would like nothing more than for her oshimen (favorite girl) to gain the center position and the fans do their best to support their oshimen to get a higher spot. Being the center of almost all the singles that has been released, fans of the lower ranked girls has been wishing for a change, for their Oshimen to be given a chance to take the center spot.

I. OOGOE DIAMOND – 2008-10-22

And change is what happened on their 10th single. Aki-P, producer of AKB48, placed Matsui Jurina of SKE48 (AKB48’s sister group) at center position. Of course nerd rage ensued. Supporters of lower ranked girls were hurt how an unknown non-AKB48 girl suddenly went from unranked to center position. Fans of Acchan were also hurt asking what did Acchan do to deserve this shafting. You can check archives of AKB48 forums to see all the raging done during that time.

II. OOGOE DIAMOND CD COVER

As if putting an unknown girl at center position wasn’t enough. management added fuel to the fire by putting Jurina’s solo picture as the cd cover for the single. Even Acchan who has been the center for the last 9 single never had a solo CD cover picture. This incident is what got me to start thinking that the management is trying to portray Jurina as the villain.

III. OOGOE DIAMOND PV

Personally the CD cover incident should have been enough fuel for the hatred for Jurina to grow. But no, there is no such thing as enough. On the Oogoe Diamond PV, they even had a scene where Jurina bumped Acchan and unapologetic, Jurina went on her way.

 

III.A. ACCHAN INTERVIEW

There was an interview with Acchan where Aki-P told her to shape up or Jurina will replace her at center position. I was only able to read the transcript in one of the forums that I frequent to but I couldn’t find the actual interview video.

IV. AKBINGO 2010-03-03

More than a year after the Oogoe Diamond promotion, you’d think that the management would have been satisfied with the fire that they have built to establish her as the villain. No, management doesn’t want us to forget. during the 2nd year anniversary of AKB48’s variety show where they showed top moments during their 2 years of show. It was mentioned during the later part of the show that the member whose face got pied or floured the most (Standard punishment of their show when you failed at something) was Maeda Atsuko who was pied and floured a combined total of 8 times throughout the show. Mii-chan then mentioned that there was one member who has never been pied nor floured ever and lo and behold, it was revealed that it was in fact Jurina. To which Acchan exclaimed that this was unacceptable. That could have been the end of that matter. but a few episodes alter, they decided to make a mountain out of the molehill of a comment from Acchan. They dedicated 2 episodes into a Beat Jurina gauntlet where 10 members will challenge Jurina on a random battle and should they win, Jurina will get pied to the face. The result? Jurina beats all 10 members and remained un-pied.

V. DOCUMENTARIES

Documentaries weren’t going to let us forget about Jurina, in a good number of AKB48’s documentaries, the arrival of Jurina was often described as a trying time for the AKB48 members.

So to all Jurina fans asking why we hate her, blame the one who called her the once in a half-a-decade decade talent.

 

About Squared
House of Squared is written by that guy who knows more than the average Duterte supporter, which isn't saying much given that most of them are morons.

13 Responses to AKB48: Matsui Jurina the Villain

  1. symbv says:

    Still writing long article about this after all these years? As you say, if there is a person to hate, why hate Jurina? You should hate Aki-P instead! None of the “evidence” you mentioned points to Jurina doing anything wrong against her team-mates, or performing badly as to not deserving recognition. On the contrary, she lived through the bashing and hatred, much of it sadly coming from people who call themselves AKB-fans, while still at an age younger than when Acchan made her debut (11), persevered and now shine more brightly than Oogoe Diamond time. I am not Jurina fan (to me Rena, Airin in SKE all come before her) but I believe she deserves praise and recognition, not hate and bashing. The latter is just misdirected hatred projected from anger about the management treatment of her and her role in AKB (relative to Acchan) . While I agree that there was a huge push from the management when Jurina made her debut – how much she deserved it is of course subject to debate, but I also think that she did serve a catalyst function for AKB – publicity was gained, people started to take note, and now many people credit Oogoe Diamond to be a turning point for AKB. Also some of your points seem a bit weak – I would like to see that interview (point III) and see if the meaning of the original Japanese is not misinterpreted, and getting angry at the AKBingo episodes (point IV) seems petty. In all, I see there is a clear intention to put Jurina there as “catalyst” and at the end she served that purpose, but at the price of gaining long-time haters (again sadly some are among AKB fans). The funny thing is that I have also read articles (in Japanese magazines) how Acchan has long been given favorable treatment by Aki-P and management since she was picked center. So I guess different points of view around, and much depend on how you see things.

  2. renx2 says:

    “Blame the one who called her the once in a decade talent”? So even you agree that Jurina herself did not do anything to deserve this hate. You basically concluded that the haters are manipulated by management to hate Jurina through no fault of Jurina at all. Thank you for being honest. If you continue to hate knowing all this, then you’re either blindly ignoring facts, or gullible enough to be easily manipulated. It’s quite shameful to lay all this blame on an innocent person for the past 4 years, especially when that person was just an 11-year-old girl when Oogoe Diamond was released.

  3. ahahaha says:

    NEWBIE!!!!

  4. littlemonkey says:

    First of all I would like to say that Jurina is not my oshimen and second of all she does not deserve all this hate. Jurina is not the villain here and the real mastermind to this is the one who push her and promote her and it not like she is the one that decide to do that. How is Jurina “unapologetic”? What should she do, apologize to Astuko?

    Here is a blog that I come upon in which translate Jurina’s Japanese wiki: At first I was simply happy about it. But right before the lessons, I started growing worried. Thinking “Is it okay for me to show up even though it’s an AKB song?” or “I wonder if we can get along.” or “I wonder if I’ll be able to dance and sing properly.” and so on… I kept crying in front of the SKE48 staff. Especially when SKE48′s theater debut was nearing, I couldn’t really practice properly and I panicked. But I would definitely never cry in front of the SKE members. During our very first lesson there was something we all agreed on, it was “to surpass AKB!”. That’s why even though I was worried, I thought “The fact that I’ll be in AKB’s song, it’ll become for the sake of the goal we all set.” and “It won’t be for me alone, but for the sake of getting SKE48′s existence known.”.”At first I was simply happy about it. But right before the lessons, I started growing worried. Thinking “Is it okay for me to show up even though it’s an AKB song?” or “I wonder if we can get along.” or “I wonder if I’ll be able to dance and sing properly.” and so on… I kept crying in front of the SKE48 staff. Especially when SKE48′s theater debut was nearing, I couldn’t really practice properly and I panicked. But I would definitely never cry in front of the SKE members. During our very first lesson there was something we all agreed on, it was “to surpass AKB!”. That’s why even though I was worried, I thought “The fact that I’ll be in AKB’s song, it’ll become for the sake of the goal we all set.” and “It won’t be for me alone, but for the sake of getting SKE48′s existence known.”

    I hope that next time you would conduct a better report and see both side of the story. Anyway this is irrelevant but I never hated any members in the XXX48 family before even if they being really push because I see no point of hating them when they have no control over it. Also, no one would say no to such a good opportunity like that. It a once of a life time chance of make it or break it.

    Credit:

    The part that I take out is on the 10th paragraph.

    • Starscream says:

      @little monkey: wasnt what you wrote exactly what I wrote in the article?

  5. moonlight says:

    The only one should be hated is Aki-P. Jurina didn’t do anything wrong. Being center of Oogoe diamond is not her choice, it was AkiP’s. She was just 11 years old at that time. The only thing she wanted is singing and dancing and she tried her best to catch up AKB members.
    Until now, the only purpose of her is making SKE48 more popular and catch up AKB. She doesn’t care about AKB center position. How many times did she has to go to hospital because of working hard? Maybe you don’t like her but she deserves to be respected. Even AKB members like her and treat her like their sister (even Acchan). So, if we are fan of AKB, we have no reason to anti Jurina.
    Besides, she’s still just a kid. Why have to hate a kid who always work hard.

  6. bingo says:

    maybe, its just aki -p strategies to make jurina known faster by fans… i guess aki-p was predicting that acchan will leaving the group long ago… and thats why this happen…
    its just my opinion…

  7. kami07 says:

    I hate Jurina. I’ve never like her but if you’re really going to the roots
    Aki-P is to be blamed. and I don’t think Jurina was made as a “Villain”
    in fact at that time I think Aki-P wants AKB48 to have a rival in the form of SKE48
    though they are sister group.they have this competition to be the leading 48 group

    the reason I hate Jurina was the fact that she was given center position immediately
    after she audition. she was presented and introduced to a AKB48 single not just a part of it
    which all non-senbatsu AKB48 member dreamed of like Ohori Megumi at that time.
    but as a double-center with Acchan. thank goodness that Senbatsu Election was made
    because all the doubt of why the current senbatsu were chosen was somehow cleared and reason out
    and surprisingly members who wasn’t consider to be in a center or higher position had ranked on the top 12.
    like Yuko who rank 2nd when at that time Kojiharu was given double center with Acchan on numerous single.

    and back to Jurina, Jurina after Oogoe Diamond has given either double center with Acchan but
    also considerable amount of screen time on pv other than Yuko,Mayu,Shinoda,Kojiharu,Tomochin and Takamina
    not also that Sayaka was kicked out of the Senbatsu because of the addition of Jurina and Rena
    when on the 13th Senbatsu Election Sayaka ranked 12th place after Iiwake Maybe though with election results Jurina was simultaneously being shown on AKB48 and Ske48 single but suprisingly at the 22nd Senbatsu though with major pushed Jurina ranked only at 14th place wherein that year she was having tremendous pushed from AKS.
    in short she didn’t live up to the expectation that Aki-P and AKS put on her
    Jurina is very overrated while on the contrary Sashi who was at the Oogoe Diamond pv
    was only an extra. is right now at 4th place on the 2012 Senbatsu Election.
    Jurina had many special attention since from the beginning of her idol career can you blame me and other fans to hate her since from the making of Akb48 dozens of girls wants to have even a 10-sec of PV screen time
    i.e Micchan, Kasai,Sayaka,Sae, and other left behind AKB48 members.
    so don’t hate us Jurina haters for hating Jurina.

    • Starscream says:

      Well, first off, I do not hate jurina haters, i love them a lot. the article was for the Jurina defense force, telling them that we are not an irrational group of Jurina haters, and that it is aki-p who seems to be causing the spread of the hate. yeah, you’re argument, i’ve been there too, but the point of the article is to point out an entirely different reason why hate on Jurina.

      And as you stated “the reason I hate Jurina was the fact that she was given center position immediately after she audition.” so who’s decision was this? who gave her that position?

  8. EmiSu says:

    I dislike Jurina Matsui a lot, I think she’s selfish and self-centered, always wanting to be center in the PVs. Everyone wants to be center but she makes it a little too obvious. Aachan wasn’t my oshi but I appreciated the fact that she displayed some modesty about being the face of AKB48; Jurina Matsui, however, has none of ot.
    Also, I don’t find her particularly talented in dancing or singing apart from the fact that she was able to carry the burden of being SKE’s ace at such a young age. If she stands out in the PVs or on the stage, it’s because she’s always in the front row (making it impossible to go unnoticed) not because she shines on her own right.
    I think Rena Matsui’s a much more likeable and charismatic performer.

    • Starscream says:

      Okay, let me get this out of the way first, I do not like Jurina fucking Matsui, I like Rena more. But I don’t hate her as much as you do, it would seem.

  9. I don’t know why I don’t like her, she just seems to have a fake and “looks nice but really isn’t” aura…Her face… Just…her smile…I rarely dislike people but my dislike for her keeps nagging me.

    • Squared says:

      I know, it’s like she has the Joker’s mouth, right?

Leave a Reply

